When Buying Eggs Requires an Internet Connection

No no, I do not mean going online to buy eggs. I simply need an internet connection so that I can search for the definitions of those words appearing on egg cartons now. It can be rather daunting really, when you can’t fathom just what the heck they are trying to sell you when you really just needed eggs. Fresh eggs.

I was just at the grocer’s last evening. Looking to buy a carton of eggs I was faced with a wall of albumen in shells packed in cartons with various kinds of descriptions. It has happened….. the buying of eggs has segmented in such variety to rival that of buying Coca Cola (Coke Light, Vanilla Coke, Coke, Coke Zero . . . ) They even once sold clear coloured Coca Cola! So out came my iPhone and I started snapping away and googling for some info to share with a very lost looking caucasian lady next to me.

All I wanted was eggs, I thought, I’m lucky however, at the very least I do not have to contend with buying eggs by their weight. Whoever came up with that silly idea?  It’s like telling my grandma her new dentures are going to cost depending on its weight, not the number of teeth she wants? …… might be a good deal for her really. I was told, however, that according to some diet, or the time of the year, the yolk may become richer, therefore the egg is heavier. That means I get less eggs (in count) than I might before. CONFUSING! Bakers, move out of Txxxland if they really decide to do this!

If it’s not damaged (or no one is complaining about an established system) DON’T FIX IT! Good Grief!

So, First Born Eggs? What the….? The 1st egg from every hen, ever? What’s so special about that? It’s like buying ‘trial eggs’. You know, the 1st issue of any products to test the market. The prototype. Just before the hen gets the hang of egg producing and laying and starts laying eggs with a consistency in terms of nutritional content, consistency, color, even shell thickness! NO THANKS, I’m not into being a guinea pig, nor do I have a penchant for inexperience.

Yup, Black Chicken Eggs….. WHAT? The hen was black? Or the eggs are black? Perhaps BOTH are black? I wonder . . . and many shoppers must have been wondering along with me as well: the shelf was stock full of this.

This I know, eggs from hens that are allowed to roam free. Picking food from everywhere and anywhere they can find. One look at the consistent shell color and I am not convinced. They all appear evenly matched. Kampong chickens are known for their sweeter tasting, more natural flesh (no steroids, so they are not meaty nor plumb). But the eggs, I am not certain. I’ll give this a try sometime.

Can you even pronounce that? Xeaxanthin. Omega 6, Low Cholesterol …. definitely eggs for the crew of X-Men. Supposedly an anti-oxidant and great for macular (retina) regenerative needs (Wolverine must have Xeaxanthin for his entire body). SKIP….. too many chemicals, and definitely not natural. I grabbed my carton of normal 1 dozen eggs and teleported right out!

Leave a Reply

