Earning a license to grow old

I finally got myself back to the gym today. After spending months away from it I have to admit it was quite a spectacle. Not of myself, but of the other regulars that were there.
All pumped up, veins popping, sweat pouring, most of them have magically ballooned to gargantuan proportions. Ah …. it must be for Taipei Pride. There was this big chap sitting across me, nodding to me in acknowledgement as he sat down to bench 390lbs. Yes, 390 pounds! Heaving, grunting, pushing, he eked out 6 reps and smiled to himself. Me? I was amazed.

No I was not amazed; it was my turn. ‘Aight’, I thought …. here goes … 160lbs!!! Yeah!!!

Boy that was difficult. My strength had left me. In another 30 minutes I was done. I managed to somewhat wake up my ‘sisters’ and did some abdominal work. All done! Phew… I still perspired tons.

Been looking through a lot of photos (of myself), searching for something decent to send to someone. I honestly think, I look better now. Shameless yes, honesty; shamelessly a definite yes. For someone going on 39 and having burnt off a good 6 kilograms barely a month ago from a week of fever: DAMN! I looked good! I’ve been taking things for granted actually. I hardly ever wash my face. I sweat tons a day, so i shower a lot, have dry skin but too lazy to moisturise. I probably spend more time looking in the mirror looking at my new piercing than looking at my face. As of today, I decided I should put more effort into routinely cleaning my face and should shower for more than 2 minutes each time (yup… a shower for me is like … a minute? I’m a dirty man I admit).

So here I am, nearly all 4 decades worth. Rambling as usual, and my iTunes happens to be playing ‘Subaru’ by Shinji Tanimura. What a coincidence. I am so insignificant, nothing compared to the wonderful cosmos, yet I try to live my life and burn as bright as the stars. No one notices. It doesn’t matter. I’m getting old, oh yes. Go ahead, burn all I want, there isn’t much left. And as Martha Stewart famously claims, “It’s a good thing”!

One thought on “Earning a license to grow old

Leave a Reply

